CITY OF WOLVERHAMPTON C O U N C I L

# Meeting of the Council

Minutes - 20 May 2015

# Attendance

MayorCllr Ian Brookfield (Lab)Deputy MayorCllr Barry Findlay (Con)

# Labour

**Cllr Ian Angus** Cllr Harbans Bagri **Cllr Harman Banger Cllr Mary Bateman Cllr Philip Bateman Cllr Payal Bedi Cllr Peter Bilson** Cllr Alan Bolshaw Cllr Greg Brackenridge **Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Ian Claymore** Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Claire Darke **Cllr Bishan Dass** Cllr Jasbinder Dehar **Cllr Steve Evans** 

# Conservative

Cllr Mark Evans Cllr Christopher Haynes Cllr Christine Mills Cllr Arun Photay

# Employees

Linda Banbury lan Fegan Adam Hadley Keith Ireland Tim Johnson Kevin O'Keefe Laura Phillips Linda Sanders **Cllr Val Evans Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal** Cllr Val Gibson Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre Cllr Julie Hodgkiss **Cllr Keith Inston Cllr Jasbir Jaspal** Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Andrew Johnson **Cllr Rupinderjit Kaur** Cllr Welcome Koussoukama **Cllr Roger Lawrence** Cllr Linda Leach **Cllr Elias Mattu** Cllr Lorna McGregor **Cllr Lynne Moran** 

**Cllr Paul Singh** 

**Cllr Wendy Thompson** 

Cllr Jonathan Yardley

**Cllr Andrew Wynne** 

Cllr Peter O'Neill Cllr Phil Page Cllr Rita Potter Cllr John Reynolds Cllr John Rowley Cllr Judith Rowley Cllr Sandra Samuels Cllr Caroline Siarkiewicz Cllr Stephen Simkins Cllr Tersaim Singh Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman Cllr Paul Sweet Cllr Bert Turner Cllr Bert Turner Cllr Martin Waite Cllr Daniel Warren

# Liberal Democrat

Cllr Richard Whitehouse

UKIP

**Cllr Malcolm Gwinnett** 

Democratic Support Officer Head of Communications Group Manager - Democracy Managing Director Strategic Director - Place Director of Governance Business Support Manager Strategic Director - People

The proceedings opened with Prayers

Item No. Title

#### 1 To elect a Mayor for the ensuing year

It was moved by Councillor Steve Evans and seconded by Councillor Sweet and

Resolved

That Councillor Ian Brookfield be elected Mayor of the City for the ensuing year

#### 2 To appoint a Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year

It was moved by Councillor Mills and seconded by Councillor Wynne and

Resolved

That Councillor Barry Findlay be elected Deputy Mayor of the City for the ensuing year

#### 3 To pass a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Mrs Thompson and seconded by Councillor Reynolds and

#### Resolved

- That the Council expresses to Councillor Michael Heap and Mrs Francis Heap it's grateful appreciation for their services as Mayor and Mayoress of the City during the 2014/15 municipal year
- 2. That an illuminated copy of the resolution of thanks to the Mayor be engrossed and sealed with the corporate seal and be presented to the retiring Mayor with a suitable memento

# 4 The Director of Governance to present a return of the Councillors elected on 7 May 2015

The Director of Governance reported the names of the Councillors who had been elected on 7 May 2015.

#### 5 The Mayor to welcome new Councillors and to move a vote of thanks to former Councillors

The Mayor welcomed Councillors Rupinderjit Kaur, Welcome Koussoukama and Lynne Moran to the Council.

#### Resolved

That the Council expresses to former Councillors Susan Constable Michael Heap and Zahid Shah it's grateful appreciation for their service as Councillors of the City

# 6 Minutes of previous meeting

Resolved

That the minutes of the meeting held 1 April 2015 be approved as a correct record

# 7 Communications

The Mayor gave details of events to commemorate Armed Forces Day which would be held on 22 and 27 June. He also reported details of the Civic Sunday service which would be held on 7 June at the Collegiate Church of St Peter.

The Mayor also congratulated Councillor Gwinnett on his recent marriage.

# 8 Changes to the Constitution

It was moved by Councillor Johnson and seconded by Councillor Lawrence and

#### Resolved

That the following revisions to the Constitution be approved:-

- 1. To delete the current Cabinet portfolios
- 2. To note the Leader's allocation of responsibilities for Cabinet portfolios as contained in appendix A and insert them into the Constitution
- 3. To amend all references and delegations to Cabinet portfolios to reflect the new Cabinet portfolios contained in appendix A
- 4. To delete terms of reference for the current Scrutiny Board and Scrutiny panels
- 5. To inset the new terms of reference for the Scrutiny Board and scrutiny panels as contained in appendix A
- 6. To amend all references to Scrutiny terms of reference to reflect the new Scrutiny terms of reference as contained in appendix A

# 9 The appointment of Executive, Scrutiny and Regulatory Bodies etc.

It was moved by Councillor Lawrence and seconded by Councillor Johnson and

Resolved

- 1. That the political composition of the Council, and its application to appointments to Council bodies, in accordance with the political balance model set out in appendix one be noted
- 2. That the appointment, by the Leader of the Council, of Councillors to the Cabinet, the specified lead Cabinet Member roles and Cabinet Panels set out in appendix two be noted
- 3. That the appointment of Councillors to the Scrutiny Board, and Scrutiny Panels, including Chairs and Vice-Chairs, as appropriate, set out in appendix three be approved subject to the following amendment:
  - The number of voting co-opted members of the Children, Young People and Families Scrutiny Panel be reduced from seven to four
- 4. That the appointment of Councillors to Regulatory and Oversight, other Panels/Committees/Boards and Advisory Groups, including Chairs and Vice-

Chairs, as appropriate, and the appointment of a Member Champion, also set out in appendix four be approved subject to the following amendments:

- Councillor Warren be appointed to the Licensing Committee
- Councillor Jasbir Jaspal be appointed to the Planning Committee
- 5. That the appointments to Joint Authorities/ Committees and Outside Bodies set out in appendices five and six, including Lead, substitute Lead and voting Councillors be approved subject to the following amendments:
  - Councillor Tersaim Singh be appointed to Age UK
  - Councillor Phil Batemen to replace Councillor Milkinder Jaspal on The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust
- That the programme of meetings set out in appendix seven, be approved subject to any amendments subsequently made by the Cabinet and Cabinet Panels, Scrutiny Panels or Regulatory and Oversight or other Panels/ Committees/ Boards and Advisory Groups
- 7. That the amended terms of reference of the West Midlands Integrated Transport Authority, set out in appendix eight, be approved, insofar as they relate to the executive functions of the Council
- 8. That the establishment of the Transport Delivery Committee as per the amended Scheme of Delegation set out in the Integrated Transport Authority's amended terms of reference and as set out in appendix eight be noted
- 9. That the Councillors proposed in the Outside Bodies list in appendix five as the Council's representatives on the Transport Delivery Committee of the Integrated Transport Authority for the 2015/16 Municipal Year be approved
- 10. That the Director of Governance and Solicitor to the Council be authorised to agree and enter into such documents as are necessary to give effect to these decisions insofar as they relate to the West Midlands Integrated Transport Authority
- 11. To note the changes to the governance arrangements of the West Midlands Integrated Transport Authority